Sandford International School
Home  »  Governance


Sandford International School is part of the Sandford International Endowment, a non-profit entity registered with the Charities and Societies Agency as per Ethiopian law. The highest decision making body of the endowment is the Board of Governors, as stipulated in the revised statute and bylaws of 2014. There are seven members on the Board, five of whom are nominated from among full fee paying parents (3 from national parents and 2 from international parents) and are appointed by the Charities and Societies Agency. The other two Board members are appointed from government offices. Currently, the Board has one representative from the Ministry of Education and another one from the Charities and Societies Agency. The day to day management of the school and the endowment is conducted by employed officers of the school led by the senior manager.

The current members of the Board of Governors of the school are as follows:-

  1. Ambassador Addis Alem Balema – Chairperson
  2. Mrs. Rahel Alemayehu – Deputy Chairperson and Chair of the Academic Committee
  3. Mr. Haile Assegidie – Chair of the Finance and Resources Committee
  4. Mr. Mark Chapman
  5. Mr. Mitiku Berecha
  6. Mr. Bizayene Gebre-Egziabher
  7. Mr. Kumlachew Aberra – Secretary of the Board and Senior Manager of the School – non-voting member

The Senior Management team of the school:

Mr. Kumlachew Aberra
Senior Manager

Mr. Guy Colborne
Head of Secondary School

Mr. Richard Wainwright
Head of Primary school

Mr. Gizachew Yehualashet
Head of Finance, Property & Procurement

Mrs. Amsale Zenebe
Head of Human Resources & Administration